Shipping Policy


We currently ship only to these states: Arizona, California, Florida, Idaho, Illinois, Louisiana, Massachusetts, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Dakota, Oregon, Virginia, Washington D.C., West Virginia and Wyoming.


Delivery State Orders entered by the day/time (EST) shown below will be prepared and shipped 2-3 business days later Once the order has shipped, you can expect a first delivery attempt within the timeframe below
CA, DC, FL, ID, LA, ND, NE, NH, NM, NV, OR, WY, WV, VA Monday-Friday 5pm 2-3 Days
AZ, IL, MA, NJ, NY 1st and 3rd Sundays 5pm 3-4 Days
All Other States Please Call Please Call

Holiday Shipping Schedule

Orders must be placed by the below deadlines in order to arrive in time for the holidays.

Thanksgiving – Thursday, November 25th

Order cut off date:
Sunday, November 8th, 12pm PST (AZ, IL, MA, NY, NJ)
Saturday, November 20th 12pm PST (all other states)

All wine deliveries must be signed for by an adult over the legal drinking age (21+). We cannot leave packages on your doorstep and we cannot ship to P.O. boxes.

If no one is available to sign for deliveries during the day, we recommend the use of a business address to ensure prompt delivery of your product. Shipping fees are non-refundable and restocking fees may apply for packages that are returned to the licensed retailer as undeliverable.

Orders requesting delivery to states that prohibit alcoholic shipments will be void. We also adhere to all state aggregate volume limits on the shipping of wine. If you need more information on your state's limits you can contact us.

In accordance with state laws, all orders are reviewed, accepted and fulfilled by licensed retail entities in the industry.

If a shipment is damaged or lost during transit it must be reported to us within 60 days of the expected delivery date. We will work with the appropriate courier to resolve the issue. We are not responsible for any losses or damages that occur during transit unless we receive notice from you within 60 days of the expected delivery date of the loss or damage to your product.